EXPERIENCE AND SEE
VISIT                          << back

On the way to Yzeron

The village is set on a rocky mountain top and offers a stunning view over Lyon plateau and the City of Lyon. There are numerous footpaths in the surrounding area.

Amidst the traditions of the Maison de L’ARAIRE museum
After a little walk via Yzeron church, visit the 3 exhibitions of this museum which is devoted to the work and trades of Lyonnais country: Roman aqueducts, silk-velvet weaving between 1830 and 1930 and rural architecture. Free entry. Open from the beginning of April until the end of November.
Tuesdays to Sundays
from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.
La maison de L’ARAIRE. 22,
rue de la Cascade.
69510 Yzeron.
Tél : 04 78 45 40 37
ou 04 78 81 07 79.

The legendary stones of Saint-Laurent-de-Vaux
A stone's throw from Yzeron, after the Roman chapel (XIth century) in the hamlet of Châteauvieux, enter the little village of Saint-Laurent-de-Vaux which has preserved all its rural authenticity. Discover the mysterious Roche aux Fées dolmen in Fay woods…

In search of the crafts artists of Lyonnais
At Messimy, Josiane Noyerie
(+33 (0)4 78 45 56 02) crafts extremely beautiful pottery on a lathe as you watch. Not far away, in the town of Brignais, Jean-Paul Camus (+33 (0) 4 78 05 18 46), a glass blower, as if by magic, crafts veritable works of art.

The Gallo-Roman village of Taluyers
Set amidst the vineyards and centred around a number of caves, go and see the temporary exhibitions of the Talusatis Association at Taluyers.
Located in a former fermenting cellar is a room displaying wine–making tools and a vaulted cave.
The village is built around a Cluniac Priory (fortified complex from the Xth century). Further ahead stands a pretty little Roman church dating from the XIIth century whose apse dominates the landscape.

Millery, in walking country:
The village of Millery can be proud of its wine-making traditions which are amongst the oldest in the Coteaux du Lyonnais area. Numerous signs point out wine-growers cellars at main junctions.
Wander around and discover the local roadside crosses, chapels and the church (XIVth and XVIIIth century).
The Tourist Information Centre publishes a document entitled, “Patrimoine bâti de Millery” on the architectural heritage of Millery and provides heritage discovery tours.

 

actualités